A NOTE TO MY STALKERS and ONLINE HARASSERS – Keep on Following me for Updates

I know my stalkers follow this blog and I want them to know that at some point, if the defamatory social media accounts they’ve stopped using but have not removed, remain live, I may well have to commence legal action. So let this be notice in that regard.

Anonymity doesn’t protect you against all proceedings and changes are afoot that could trigger regulatory oversight as well. None of what has happened here is OK. I’ve yet to find a single colleague who finds the conduct even remotely within the realm of ordinary civility, professionalism or within the range of acceptable human behaviour, let alone for lawyers.

Also, the sole reason I’ve chosen not to identify the harassers by name to date is because I am embarrassed for them vicariously and concerned that I had such poor judgment as to become involved with them in the first place and somehow missed how unbalanced they were during our relationship to each other. That doesn’t mean I do not have a five point plan ready to implement the moment I decide that the defamatory content must immediately come down. That plan necessarily involves naming and shaming the perpetrators but it obviously goes further than that, to include comprehensive responses to all allegations including a demonstration of where the complaints made against me were mere projections of their own conduct.

Keep in mind as well that the anonymous accounts did not solely focus on me — one did almost exclusively but the other, at least to start, took aim at all women in the law, with a particular emphasis on younger women and racialized lawyers. All those affected have an interest in knowing who posted the content to these accounts. I mean if the idea was to get a rise out of me, while right now I don’t care enough to do it, doesn’t mean one day I won’t have had enough. As things do appear to unfold, without a definitive stop, that day may come sooner rather than later. I don’t like that nasty barrel of lies and attacks out there unanswered. So I do suggest deleting the accounts, now.

I am aware based on the stalkers’ conduct that they would try to deny their involvement in all this. On that score, I say to them …

A NOTE FOR MY STALKERS – Let Me Be CLEAR – I know this was all you and still is you

I’ve come to realize you ultimately wanted, on some level, to be caught. This is because toward the end of the era when the “anonymous” accounts were regularly operational, you let down your guard. The language of the sarcasm got looser, the cynicism escalated, the meanness wasn’t hiding behind any real humour any more. You had stopped being funny ages before that of course. But most importantly, your esoteric language patterns emerged.

Unfortunately for you, you either forgot just how well I know you, in one case for decades, and how intimately I’ve read and listened to your words for countless hours at a time. I can say without a doubt that I recognize your own unique stamp on at least two dozen of the posted communications. That’s why I gather subconsciously or consciously you wanted me to know, at least eventually, that this was you. Congratulations in that event. I didn’t want to believe it, I was willfully blind for as long as possible, but you win. Now I know and I am sure. I was sad and heart-broken, angry even, but now I’m just sure.

Also, when you’re the only person in the world entrusted with a secret, and that secret shows up in an “anonymous” social media account’s post, I’m afraid you’ve identified yourself. And when the poster indicates they heard the news from someone else, you’ve identified the second person involved in the duo doing the harassing.

I hope this helps explain how you were identified and why there’s no way around it. I have zero doubt that I know who you are for a host of reasons, but the main one is it cannot be anyone else. You miscalculated in believing I shared things about my life with others, when in fact you were the closest and most important people in my life at the time. I am sad for you because you did not understand this, apparently, but glad that your ignorance also led to your downfall.

About anitaszigeti

• Called to the Bar (1992) • U of T Law grad (1990) • Sole practitioner (8 years) • Partner in small law firm (Hiltz Szigeti) since 2002 • Mom to two astonishing kids, Scarlett (8) and Sebastian (5) • (Founding) Chair of Mental Health Legal Committee for nine years (1997 to 2006) • Counsel to clients with serious mental health issues before administrative tribunals and on appeals • Former Chair, current member of LAO’s mental health law advisory committee • Educator, lecturer, widely published author (including text book on consent and capacity law) • Fifteen years’ experience as counsel to almost exclusively legally aided clients • Frequently appointed amicus curiae • Fearless advocate • Not entirely humourless
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment